English Teacher Cassie Cox Believes in Author Visits

Author dinner with Two Rivers High School

Author dinner with Two Rivers High School


Author visits create life-long readers. Author visits motivate my students to read more than they ever felt themselves capable of reading.

Thanks to author visits, I’ve witnessed students “doing what’s rewarding versus doing what’s rewarded.” They read because meeting the authors of books they read is rewarding.

As a teacher, those students who have joined me for “Evenings with an Author” with authors such as Wendy Toliver tend to stay connected with me far beyond high school graduation. Former students remember author visits as the highlights of their time in my class. As a teacher, I find that students seek out books written by authors they’ve met. Additionally, after an author visits my students, even students who hear that certain authors have been to my school tend to pick up more of those authors’ books.

As a teacher, every author I meet makes me a better teacher. After author visits, I feel more motivated than ever to read more and to seek ways to motivate my students to read more.

Wendy Toliver is a favorite among my students. My classroom library is home to multiple tattered copies of “Lifted.”

Cassie Cox
English Teacher
Two Rivers High School
Ogden, Utah

Leave a Reply

