Visiting Author Friends

Last night I got home from sunny Scottsdale, Arizona. One of my favorite things to do when I travel is get together with fellow authors, whether a friend from a conference or book event, or someone I’ve communicated with via social media or am a fan of, but haven’t had the honor of meeting in person. I just send them a message or give them a call and see if they’re available to get together. (Authors are wonderfully welcoming creatures who don’t run away screaming “Psycho Stalker on the Loose!” At least, not to my knowledge. They very well might do that after we’ve met.) We typically find somewhere to have coffee or lunch and get to know one another or catch up, and of course talk shop.

I love hanging out with Alyson whenever I'm in CA.

I love hanging out with Alyson whenever I’m in CA.

On my recent trip to Arizona, I was lucky enough to catch Aprilynne Pike between dropping off her son at a birthday party and driving to YAllapalooza at Changing Hands Bookstore in Tempe. I hadn’t seen her since she was so kind to include me in her book tour back in August, and it was terrific getting to see her over a fresh seafood salad topped with tiny squids (her) and an Italian chicken sandwich and way too many fries (moi). She has some intriguing projects in the works, so we fans are in for a treat!

I forgot to take a photo of Aprilynne, but here’s one of me with author Alyson Noel, who I’ve had the honor of knowing for many moons and absolutely adore. Even though she’s crazy-busy writing, touring, and doing yoga, I always give her a call when I’m on her turf in beautiful California. Maybe someday we can do yoga together!

The best part about visiting authors is getting a message from them, letting me know they’re coming to Utah and would like to get together with me. I hope that if you’re ever in my neck of the woods, you’ll give me a shout!

Leave a Reply

